The Pasch Brooks scrapbook, part 1

When my grandmother, Gladys Corinne Walker, was a child in Michigan in the early 1900s, she made two scrapbooks out of old catalogs.

DSC04393.JPG

DSC04394

Sit with me, and we will leaf through the scrapbook together, a few pages at a time, as we look more closely at some of the best pictures.  Later, we might amuse ourselves by sorting the pictures into topics.

DSC04395.JPG

ad.JPG

scenery

flowers.JPG

cats.JPG

DSC04400.JPG

DSC04401

 

birds

DSC04403.JPG

petunias

DSC04405.JPG

 

flowers

DSC04407

flowers.JPG

cats.JPG

DSC04410.JPG

flowers.JPG

children.JPG

DSC04414.JPG

rose.JPG

DSC04416.JPG

DSC04417.JPG

train.JPG

DSC04419.JPG

flowers.JPG

DSC04421
The ear of corn really is pasted on next to the fashionable couple.

DSC04422.JPG

DSC04877.JPG

 

fashion.JPG

DSC04425.JPG

flowers.JPG

DSC04425.JPG

flowers.JPG

dahlia.JPG

DSC04426.JPG

pansies.JPG

sewing.JPG

DSC04430.JPG

DSC04431.JPG

to be continued…

 

4 thoughts on “The Pasch Brooks scrapbook, part 1

    1. My grandma had me making scrapbooks but I did not keep mine like I did hers. She taught me to cut out carefully around the pictures. I wish I still had mine as a lot of the pics would have been of flowers of the early 60s, I am sure. I can’t even recall when those scrapbooks of mine fell by the wayside. Even though hers got water damaged when I lived in a leaky place, only the edges of the backing paper got discolored. Am so chuffed I managed to hang onto something of hers that is over 100 years old.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Lovely thing to pass down on the next generations. I’m making my own scrapbook now cutting photos of flowers and plant. Maybe one day I’ll show them in the post.

        Like

Leave a Reply

