Grandma’s photos: Michigan farm

…”You introject your dear friends and relations, haul them in and carry them inside you in the womb of your subconscious…We contain each other like a series of babushkas, each inside the other, back, back and back to the earliest ancestor of all.”  -Joan Aiken, Foul Matter

IMG_4176.JPG
Gladys mother, Mary, as a young woman

Gladys Corinne Walker was born in 1897 and grew up on a farm in Argyle, Michigan.

IMG_4202
a very old family photo with Will, Mary Walker, Lou and Alice

DSC05962
Gladys Corinne Walker, 1 1/2 years old, 1898
In 1915 or so, she moved to Seattle. Both her sister Lou (Lucy) and Alice had preceded her there.

gladysyoung
young Gladys Walker

lou
Sister Lou (Lucy), born 1887

Permit me to indulge in a bit of genealogy..

The mother of Lucy, Alice, and Gladys:

marywilson.png

Their father:

amasa leander.png

My grandmother rarely mentioned her brother, who stayed in Michigan:

brother.png

And I wonder if she fell out with sister Alice, because I have learned that Alice lived in Raymond, Washington, till 1968, and yet I don’t recall her being mentioned to me.  We frequently visited “Aunt Lou”, who lived on a farm with her husband, Jack Plisko, in Port Orchard, Washington.  Imagine, if Alice had had children, I might have cousins in Raymond.

alice.png

Alice Walker Cady:

Gladys’s oldest photo album contains a collection of photos from the Michigan farm.  I am pretty sure some were sent to her by her family after she had moved to Seattle; as far as I know, she never went back to visit.  There is a possibility that some of the photos are from her childhood.

I have very little information about these photos that capture so well the feeling of farm life in the early 1900s.

DSC05069
Anna Walker is on the right. That is the only name captioned, and is not one I can find in the genealogy.

house
This could be Gladys’s mother. Note the flowers everywhere.

DSC05995.JPG
flowers everywhere

DSC05224.JPG
note the  houseplants in the window.  I believe the children are Will’s daughters.
 

oldshack.jpg
Michigan, I assume.

DSC05180.jpg
maybe the papa, Amasa Leander Walker?

DSC05210.JPG
a fine barn

soil.JPG
Michigan farmland
tractor.JPG

DSC05211.JPG

What tractor might this be? I asked on Facebook, and friends Jim Sayce and Joe Chasse were interested in the question.  Jim came up with the Fordson Model F.  It began production in 1917, useful information that lets us know that these are not photos from Gladys’s childhood but instead are photos sent to her after she moved to Seattle.

Jim told the story of an old Fordson tractor starting right up: “Rocky Davis drove it by our house in ~~64. I remember it sitting south of their house out in a field. One day he & buddies went out and hand crank started it!”

DSC05233
corn
DSC05773.JPG

DSC05240.JPG
something farmish
I wonder if the big rock piles imply that the soil was rocky.  Google tells me that yes, it was.

DSC05241.JPG

IMG_4106
brother Will and his daughters Doris and Marjorie

DSC05993
also Doris and Marjorie, possibly with their mother, Martha Dove.
IMG_4108.jpg

DSC05214
definitely Will Walker

DSC05046.JPG
Annie Walker was important…a grandma? An aunt?
I am guessing that all the old photos of farm animals on the family farm in Michigan.

DSC05082.jpg

horseteam.jpg

DSC05084.jpg

horseboy

calf

foal.jpg

DSC05206

DSC05247.JPG

cow
Bear Lake Rural Agricultural School
I wonder if the family went to Bear Lake on a vacation, or if a family member attended this school.  It is quite a ways from Argyle.

map.png

Winter in Michigan?

DSC05290.JPG

DSC05292.JPG

DSC05293.JPG

DSC05140.jpg

DSC05141.jpg

And then…more of the dear, long gone people.

DSC05245
goofing around
DSC05244.JPG

DSC05243
hat humour
hats.JPG

DSC05242.JPG

DSC05137

DSC05246
I love her face. Perhaps a distant relative of mine.

DSC05762
on the back is written “Papa says 17 of Sept…load of wood…Grandma Robbins.”

alice
on the back: “The old group. Can you find me? Ha Ha, Alice. I thought you would like these. They were mother’s.”
DSC05144

 

DSC05182.jpg

DSC05184.JPG

DSC05185.JPG

DSC05186.JPG

DSC05187.JPG

DSC05189.JPG

DSC05190
This gentleman would have looked at home in the 1980s.
DSC05191.JPG

I’m hoping some fashion savvy friends can help me pin an approximate date onto these gentlemen:

DSC05192

DSC05200.JPG

DSC05201.JPG

DSC05989

DSC05990.JPG

DSC05215.JPG

DSC05049.JPG

DSC05289.JPG

DSC05050.JPG

DSC05051.JPG

IMG_4110.jpg

To see all these people, long gone, reminds me of a favourite passage about mortality:

When she died her family would remember her and she would live on in their memories for seventy years at most, and then she would be forgotten. She would become one of the ninety billion people on this planet that had lived and died before her. The end.

At forty-four, I feel the current of that river pulling at me. I am one of six and a half billion people currently taking their turn at being alive on this planet. One of billions trying to make sense of their lives, their heartbreaks, their regrets, their greatest loves, their bad knees, and their beloved children sitting in front of them who will one day be part of the billions who have come before and have long since been forgotten.

This is unfathomable. And it’s the truest thing I know.

 -Melanie Gideon, The Slippery Year

Even though I don’t know the names of some of the Argyle, Michigan folks, I want them to be remembered here. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

